CHP Technical Assistance Partnerships (CHP TAPs)

DOE's CHP Technical Assistance Partnerships (CHP TAPs) promote and assist in transforming the market for CHP, waste heat to power, and district energy technologies/concepts throughout the United States. Key services of the CHP TAPs include: 

  • End User Engagement
    Partner with strategic end users to advance technical solutions using CHP as a cost-effective and resilient way to ensure American competitiveness, utilize local fuels, and enhance energy security. CHP TAPs offer fact-based, non-biased engineering support to manufacturing, commercial, institutional and federal facilities and campuses.
  • Stakeholder Engagement
    Engage with strategic stakeholders, including regulators, utilities, and policymakers, to identify and reduce the barriers to using CHP to advance regional efficiency, promote energy independence, and enhance the nation’s resilient grid. CHP TAPs provide fact-based, non-biased education to advance sound CHP programs and policies.
  • Technical Services
    As leading experts in CHP (as well as microgrids, heat to power, and district energy) the CHP TAPs work with sites to screen for CHP opportunities as well as provide advanced services to maximize the economic impact and reduce the risk of CHP from initial screening to installation.

The CHP TAPs offered technical assistance to facilities impacted by the Boiler MACT regulation.

Contact the CHP TAP in your area and read this CHP Deployment Program fact sheet. CHP TAPs were formerly called the Clean Energy Application Centers (CEACs). You can access the information for each TAP below. 

New England

David Dvorak, Ph.D., P.E.
University of Maine
207-581-2338
dvorak@maine.edu

New York-New Jersey

Tom Bourgeois
Pace University
914-422-4013
tbourgeois@law.pace.edu

Mid-Atlantic

Jim Freihaut, Ph.D.
Pennsylvania State University
814-863-0083
jdf11@psu.edu

Southeast

Isaac Panzarella, P.E.
North Carolina State University
919-515-0354
ipanzarella@ncsu.edu

Midwest

Cliff Haefke
University of Illinois at Chicago
312-355-3476
chaefk1@uic.edu

Southcentral

Gavin Dillingham, Ph.D.
HARC
281-216-7147
gdillingham@harcresearch.org

Central

Cliff Haefke
University of Illinois at Chicago
312-355-3476
chaefk1@uic.edu

Upper-West

Gavin Dillingham, Ph.D.
HARC
281-216-7147
gdillingham@harcresearch.org

Western

Gene Kogan
Center for Sustainable Energy
858-633-8561
gene.kogan@energycenter.org

Northwest

David Van Holde, P.E.
Washington State University
360-956-2071
VanHoldeD@energy.wsu.edu

CHP TAPs Contacts at DOE

Please reach out to the CHP Deployment Program for TAPs support.

Tarla T. Toomer, Ph.D.
CHP Deployment Program Coordinator
Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
U.S. Department of Energy
Tarla.Toomer@ee.doe.gov

Patti Welesko Garland
DOE CHP TAP Coordinator [contractor]
Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
U.S. Department of Energy
Patricia.Garland@ee.doe.gov

Ted Bronson
DOE CHP TAP Coordinator [contractor]
Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
U.S. Department of Energy
tbronson@peaonline.com